Farida Samerkhanova

Yesterday, when I was in blue moods,
my friend took me to his place.
I could not explain why I felt like that.
It was like someone was betraying me.
He said he was not.
I knew he was not,
but I had that feeling.
When I was leaving his place
I said that later I would know the reason.
All became clear as early as the next morning.
My cousin from Israel called and said
that her sister had died.
That is weird. Could people feel
each other’s suffering from far away?
My deceased cousin had a new-born granddaughter.
She saw her once, right before she died.
It is a sequence of generations.
Her DNA now lives in her children and granddaughter.
She probably thought that she had
fulfilled her function in the world.
She did not have to fight
for life and prolong her misery.
She could pass away. And so she did.
Her husband was her first and only boyfriend.
They had lived together for forty years.
Till her last breath he was beside her.
He was her nurse and friend.
I think she was happy when she was dying.
Can one be happy when dying?
Now I am thinking what the life is about.
Is there any sense in living?
The end of every life is the same.
Death always wins.

Вчера, когда у меня было плохое
настроение, мой друг взял меня к себе домой.
Я не знаю, почему мне так плохо было.
Как будто меня предали.
Он сказал, что он не предавал.
Я знаю, что он не предавал.
Но у меня было такое чувство.
Когда я уходила, я сказала,
что потом я узнаю причину.
Все стало ясно на следующее утро.
Кузина позвонила из Израиля и сказала,
что умерла ее сестра.
Странно это. Могут люди чувствовать чужую боль издалека?
У моей умершей кузины есть новорожденная внучка.
Она видела ее один раз, перед самой смертью.
Смена поколений.
Ее клетки теперь живут в ее детях и внучке.
Наверное, она выполнила свою функцию на этом свете.
Зачем ей было подолжать агонию и бороться за жизнь?
Она могла умереть, что она и сделала.
Ее муж был ее первым и последним другом.
Они прожили вместе сорок лет.
Он был возле нее до последнего вздоха.
Я думаю, она умирала счастливой.
Может ли человек быть счастливым,
когда он умирает?
Теперь я думаю, что это такое – жизнь.
Стоит ли жить вообще?
Любая жизнь имеет один и тот же конец.
Всегда побеждает смерть.

13a

Leave a Reply

