J. Eric Castro – THREE POEMS

CLASS ACT

I came to a stop sign
driving down Memory Lane
and washed my hands of memories that needed to be washed away.
This road by the river
is the only place I need to be.
Here the sun sets in the east, making today yesterday.

I hold on to an image that reminds me of yesterday’s dream
of being the man I wanted to be when I was a little kid.
But now I have to let go, all my dreams have faded away
and now I have to do the same things that my Daddy did.

New dreams have replaced the old,
but I still can’t seem to strike gold.
I tell everybody I meet to realize
that a man can’t win no matter how hard he tries.

Driving down some boulevard,
I came to a place I’d never been.
I thought it was heaven at first, but I’m still in the U.S.A.
I tried to ask someone for directions,
but to no avail–
it seems as if nobody around here really knows what to say.

New dreams have replaced the old,
but I still can’t seem to strike gold.
I tell everybody I meet to realize
that a man can’t win no matter how hard he tries.

I ride through the valley on my
memories again.
Turn and see a girl looking at me, could one day she be mine?
I’m standing by that river on a
Sunday afternoon,
I think I’ve just realized I’ve suddenly run out of time.

New dreams have replaced the old
but I still can’t seem to strike gold.
I tell everybody I meet to realize
that a man can’t win no matter how hard he tries…

…and when there’s a man
with a master plan
why does life persecute him so?
And if it’s a known fact
that he was a class act
why can’t he just be left alone?

WIT’S END

Well, don’t cha know
what you have been waiting for
is coming ‘round the bend
and you’re at your wit’s end.Well, don’t cha know
a life worth waiting for
is running at your speed
so now’s the time to heedI have no more time
to dignify the pain.
Yeah, I have no more time
to get on my feet again.I have no more time
when troubles get me deep
I have no more time.
I said, I HAVE NO MORE TIME!Well, don’t cha know,
what you have been waiting for
is an eternity out of place;
let it veer off into space.

Well, don’t cha know,
things that were left behind
soon we all shall find
were things of the mind.

I have no more time
to rectify the ills.
Yeah, I have no more time
to get off on the thrills.

I said, I have no more time
to seek fortune and fame.
I have no more time.
I said, I HAVE NO MORE TIME!

Well, don’t cha know
what you have been waiting for
is coming ‘round the bend
and you’re at your wit’s end.

Well, don’t cha know
it happens for a reason
and thus begins a season
you’ll learn when you listen.

SALVATION

Blackened shadows
late at night
I’m going to the gallows
without a single fright

I can’t live today
my body’s aching once again
I’m off the cliff
Lord, won’t you please be a friend…

‘cuz I can’t wait;
oh Lord, I can’t wait…oh yeah
salvation once more
salvation once more

Black-eyed peas
are my last supper.
They’re Seven Seas;
compliments to the chef.

It has been so long
since we’ve had this conversation
and it’s been so hard—
the journey to find myself.

And I can’t wait;
ah Lord, I can’t wait…no, no
salvation once more
salvation once more

Blackened shadows
late at night
I’m going to the gallows
without a single fright

___________________________________________________

J. Eric Castro isn’t going to start your revolution, sing your top-40 hit, or lead the Houston Astros to a World Series championship anytime soon. He is only interested in writing and, as the Editor-in-Chief of Danse Macabre’s DM du jour blog, publishing good fiction. A graduate of the College of Staten Island in New York City and father of two daughters, he has been published in numerous on-line literary magazines, including Danse Macabre, Mediavirus Magazine, Greensilk Journal, and Sparkbright Magazine. His first novel, Rowdies, is available from Outskirts Press, and a novella, Cricket for Souls, is on sale through Muse it Up Publishing. Nightmares—A Collection of Tales, is also available through Hammer and Anvil Press.

___________________________________________

wpid-hna12.jpg

Leave a Reply

