Ron Singer – 3 EXPERIMENTAL POEMS

     

 

 

            Perfection Permutations

 

“You are perfect, to me.” *

You are perfect to me.

You are perfect –to me.

You are to perfect me.

 Perfect, you are, to me.

Perfect, you are. Me, too.

 “Perfect”? To me, you are.

 Perfect me! Are you, too?

Perfect me! You are, too.

“Perfect”? You are. Me, too.

You are. Perfect me, too.

Too perfect: me, you.

Too perfect: you, me.

To me, you are perfect.

To you, perfect! Me?

To me, perfect! You?

To perfect me, you.

To perfect you, me.

You, me, perfect are. Too(t toot).

* seen on greeting card.

                                                             (Sounds Like …)

papal encyclical: … an ice pop.

pantoum: … clown, ghost, trouser, floating dock.

canzone: … the supper for which you sing.

Porsche: … a piggy thing.

mercy: … en francais, “thanks.”

baklava: … face cover for cold or robbing banks.

philatelist: … stamp collector with mouth full.

… pontifical inseminator: Papal bull.

                                                Words Fall Short of …

Words fall short of,

among other things,

conveying sounds

–most sounds.

Take the ripple

and slap

of a magazine

thrown two feet

from a perch

on the toilet,

and landing on

the wooden lid

of the hamper.

If, instead,

you reached out

and placed

the magazine

on the hamper,

the ripple and slap

would be replaced

by a crinkle,

a slide,

and, perhaps, a tap.

But everyone knows

that “ripple, “slap,

“crinkle,” “slide,” “tap,”

are words, not sounds.

Yet suppose,

somehow,

that words

could be placed

on the hamper

–the “hamper.”

In that case,

there would be

no sounds,

and, so,

no words.

Words fall short of… sort of.

* * * * *

Poems by Ron Singer (www.ronsinger.nethave appeared in publications including alba, Aemone Sidecar, Arlington Literary Journal (featured poet, July, 2010), Borderlands: The Texas Poetry Review, The Brooklyn RailEvergreen Review, Front Porch Review, Grey Sparrow, The Hampden-Sydney Poetry ReviewNew Works Review (featured poet, Fall 2008), Third Wednesday, Waterways: Poetry in the Mainstream, Windsor Review, and Word Riot.  Some of these poems have been set to music. Three are included in the 2009 anthology, Poetic Voices Without Borders-2, and another in American Voices: What Poets See. Among recent readings are Cornelia Street Café (NY, NY) and Ecopelagicon Nature Store (Rangeley, Maine).  Singer has just completed his sixth book, Uhuru Revisited, a collection of interviews with pro-democracy activists (Africa World Press/Red Sea Press, forthcoming).  

 * * * * *

Leave a Reply

